CPL 2013 to 2020 Winners List of All Seasons

CPL 2013 to 2020 Winners List of All Seasons

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) came into being in 2013. Founded by Cricket West Indies, it is currently sponsored by Hero MotoCorp and officially named the Hero CPL. It comprises six teams including Trinbago Knight Riders, St Kitts, and Nevis, St Lucia Zouks, Barbados Tridents, Jamaica Tallawahs, and Guyana Amazon Warriors. 

Amongst the six CPL winner teams, Trinbago Knight Riders team have been the most successful team in the league, winning the competition four times in 2020, 2018, 2017, and 2015. The other team that has performed well in the Caribbean Premier League is Barbados Tridents winning the CPL trophy two times in 2019 and 2014. Another team that has won the CPL tournament twice is Jamaica Tallawahs in 2016 and 2013.

The two unlucky teams of CPL have been St Lucia Zouks and Guyana Amazon Warriors who have reached the playoffs every time but have not managed to win the trophy even once. In the first edition of CPL in 2013, Guyana Amazon Warriors were defeated by Jamaica Tallawahs in the final. In the 2020 season of the Caribbean Premier League, Trinbago Knight Riders triumphed over Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final. 

In the Caribbean Premier League final of 2014, Barbados Tridents won the battle against Guyana Amazon Warriors. They batted first and scored 152 for 6 in their 20 overs. They topped the CPL final winner list by restricting Guyana Amazon Warriors batsmen in final overs and won by 8 runs through the Duckworth Lewis Stern method. DLS is a mathematical formula designed to calculate the target score for the team batting second in a limited-overs cricket if the match is interrupted by inclement weather or any other circumstances.  

In the 2015 Caribbean Premier League final, Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel won the title against Barbados. While batting first, they made 175 for 5 and Barbados lost by 20 runs as they could make only 158 for 4. Dwayne Bravo of the Red Steel was declared the Player of the Series.

 In the 2016 final of CPL, Guyana Amazon Warriors batted first and could only manage a paltry score of 93 runs. Jamaica Tallawahs could easily score that small total in just 12.5 overs by losing just one wicket. Andre Russell of Jamaica Tallawahs was declared Player of the Series. 

In the exciting final of CPL 2017, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots team batted first and scored 135 for 6. Trinbago Knight Riders reached the target in 19 overs, losing 7 wickets. 

In the 2018 CPL final, Guyana Amazon Warriors batted first and scored 147 for 9 in 20 overs. Trinbago Knight Riders could easily reach that score in 17.3 overs, by losing just two wickets. Colin Munro of Trinbago Knight Riders was declared the Player of the Series.

In the 2019 final of the Caribbean Premier League, Barbados Tridents got a chance to bat first and scored 171 for 6. They restricted Guyana Amazon Warriors to 144 for 9 and won the series by 27 runs. Hayden Walsh Jr. of Barbados Tridents was declared the Player of the Series.